LOK SABHA

SUPPLEMENTARY LIST OF BUSINESS Wednesday, December 11, 2019 / Agrahayana 20, 1941 (Saka)

LEGISLATIVE BUSINESS

BILL FOR REFERENCE TO JOINT COMMITTEE

SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD to move

that the Bill to provide for protection of the privacy of individuals relating to their personal data, specify the flow and usage of personal data, create a relationship of trust between persons and entities processing the personal data, protect the rights of individuals whose personal data are processed, to create a framework for organisational and technical measures in processing of data, laying down norms for social media intermediary, cross-border transfer, accountability of entities processing personal data, remedies for unauthorised and harmful processing, and to establish a Data Protection Authority of India for the said purposes and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of the following 20 Members from this House, namely:-

- 1. Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi
- 2. Shri P.P. Chaudhary
- 3. Shri S. S. Ahluwalia
- 4. Shri Tejasvi Surya
- 5. Shri Ajay Bhatt

The Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019

- 6. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore
- 7. Shri Sanjay Jaiswal
- 8. Dr. Kiritbhai Solanki
- 9. Shri Arvind Dharmapuri
- 10. Dr. Heena Gavit
- 11. Shri Uday Pratap Singh
- 12. Shri Rajiv Ranjan Singh
- 13. Shri Gaurav Gogoi
- 14. Ms. S. Jothi Mani
- 15. Prof. Saugata Roy
- 16. Smt. Kanimozhi
- 17. Shri P.V. Midhun Reddy
- 18. Dr. Shrikant Eknath Shinde
- 19. Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab
- 20. Shri Ritesh Pandey

and 10 Members from the Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the first day of the last week of the Budget Session, 2020;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committee shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make;

that this House recommends to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of the Members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee; and

that the Speaker shall appoint one of the Members of the Committee to be its Chairperson.

NEW DELHI; <u>December 11, 2019</u> Agrahayana 20, 1941 (Saka)

SNEHLATA SHRIVASTAVA Secretary General