al combal al spond The state of the state o

सांविधानिकतथासंसदीय अध्ययन संस्थान

Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies

18-21, VP House, Rafi Marg, New Delhi

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Rule-17: Composition of the Executive Council

- (1) The Executive Council of the Institute shall be composed of:
 - i) Seven members including the Honorary Treasurer elected as provided in Rule 18:
 - One member of the Rajya Sabha to be nominated by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha and two members of the Lok Sabha to be nominated by the Speaker, Lok Sabha;
 - iii) Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha Secretariat and Secretary-General, Lok Sabha Secretariat (ex-officio);
 - iv) One nominee of the Ministry of Law Justice and Company Affairs;
 - v) One expert in financial matters to be nominated by the Ministry of Finance.
- (2) The Director of the Institute shall be the ex-officio Secretary of the Executive Council.
- (3) No person who is member of the Executive Council shall simultaneously hold any responsible position on any foundation indigenous or foreign, which has a real or potential interest in financing the Institute or directing its activities.

Rule-18: Election of Members of the Executive Council

- (1) The members of the General Body of the Institute shall in the manner specified in Sub-Rule (3) of this Rule elect from amongst its members, seven members of the Executive Council, including the Honorary Treasurer, at least one of whom shall be a judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court.
- (2) No member shall be eligible for election as member of the Executive Council, unless he is nominated by at least two Founder, Ordinary or Life Members and unless such nominations are received by the election officer on or before the prescribed date and in the prescribed manner.
- (3) (a) The election shall be by postal ballot.
 - (b) The election to the Executive Council shall be held by an Election Officer not being a member of the Executive Council, to be appointed by the President.
 - (c) Ballot papers shall be issued by the Election Officer and shall be returned to him by name only by registered post by the voters individually.

at anished at young

सांविधानिकतथासंसदीय अध्ययन संस्थान

Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies

18-21, VP House, Rafi Marg, New Delhi

- (d) An appeal from the decision of the Election Officer shall lie to the President who may himself hear and decide the appeal or have it heard and decided by his nominee.
- (4) Elected or nominated members of the Executive Council shall hold office for a term of two years from the date of their election or nomination subject to rule 37A save and except that any person who is a member of the Executive Council by virtue of the position/office held by him shall ipso facto cease to be a member on his vacating such position/office.

Rule-22: Powers and Functions of the Executive Council

- (1) Subject to the general control and direction of the General Body, the Executive Council shall be responsible for the management and administration of the affairs of the Institute in accordance with these Rules and the bye-laws if any made thereunder for the furtherance of its objects, and shall have all powers which may be necessary or expedient for the purpose.
- (2) Without prejudice to the generality of the powers conferred by the foregoing sub-rule, the Executive Council shall have the power:
 - i) to take decisions on applications for membership;
 - ii) to prepare and execute detailed plans and programmes for the furtherance of the objects of the Institute;
 - iii) to receive, to have custody of and to expend the funds of the Institute and to manage the properties of the Institute;
 - iv) to appoint and control such staff as may be required for efficient management of the affairs of the Institute and to regulate their recruitment and conditions of services;
 - v) to enter into agreement for and on behalf of the Institute;
 - vi) to sue and defend all legal proceedings on behalf of the Institute;
 - vii) to appoint committees for disposal of any business of the Institute or for advice in any matter pertaining to the Institute;
 - viii) to make, adopt and vary from time-to-time bye-laws for the regulation of and for any purpose connected with the management and administration of the affairs of this Institute and for furtherance of its objects, in particular to make, adopt and vary from time to time bye-laws for conducting the branches, the local branches and the committees to be appointed by it for regulating the right and privileges of Associate Members for delegation of its powers for fixing the quorum and for co-option;

doubt 179 TONAL AND PROFILE HER TO THE TONAL AND PROFILE HER TO THE TONAL AND PROFILE HER TONAL AND PROFILE HER

सांविधानिकतथासंसदीय अध्ययन संस्थान

Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies

18-21, VP House, Rafi Marg, New Delhi

- ix) Borrowing Powers: "to borrow from Commercial Banks/ Financial Institutions/ other organisations such sums as may be considered necessary for the furtherance of the objects of the Institute";
- x) Additional Functions: "to perform such additional functions and to carry out such duties as may from time-to-time be assigned to it";
- (3) The Executive Council may exercise any of the aforesaid powers and functions at a meeting of the Executive Council provided that the Executive Council may in addition to the responsibilities of the Director under Rule 15 delegate to the Director, by resolution any of its functions referred to in clauses (ii), (v), and (vi) of Sub-Rule (2) of this Rule or such other specified functions as the Executive Council may deem appropriate, but subject always to the conditions laid down by the Council and its ratification in this behalf.

CURRENT COMPOSITION OF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

No	Name& Designation	Category
1	Vacant	Nominated {Rule-17(1)(ii)}
2	Shri Pinaki Misra (Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha) <i>Vice-President (Since 18.06.2020)</i>	Nominated {Rule-17(1)(ii)}
3	Shri K. Anand Singh (Advocate) Honorary Treasurer (Since 23.04.2008)	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i) Read with Rule-18(1)}
4	Shri Sikander Kumar (Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha) <i>Member (Since 30.09.2022)</i>	Nominated {Rule-17(1)(ii)}
5	Shri P.C. Mody (Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha) <i>Member (Since 12.11.2021)</i>	Ex-officio {Rule- 17(1)(iii)}
6	Shri Utpal Kumar Singh (Secretary-General, Lok Sabha) <i>Member (Since 01.12.2020)</i>	Ex-officio {Rule- 17(1)(iii)}
7	Dr. Rajiv Mani (Additional Secretary & Legal Adviser, Ministry of Law & Justice) <i>Member (Since 16.08.2021)</i>	Nominated {Rule-17(1)(iv)}



सांविधानिकतथासंसदीय अध्ययन संस्थान

Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies 18-21, VP House, Rafi Marg, New Delhi

8	Ms. Nirupama Kotru (Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, Ministry of Coal) Member (Since 31.05.2021)	Nominated {Rule-17(1)(v)}
9	Vacant	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i) Read with Rule-18(1)}
10	Vacant	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i)}
11	Vacant	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i)}
12	Shri D.S. Mathur (Advocate) Member (Since 23.04.2008)	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i)}
13	Dr. Surender Singh Rana (Associate Professor, University of Delhi) Member(Since 23.04.2008)	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i)}
14	Shri Jitender Parasar (Advocate) Member(Since 23.04.2008)	Elected {Rule-17(1)(i)}
